France friendly kicks off quest for Euro glory

Wales’ mission to surpass the highs of Euro 2016 starts in earnest tonight when they face France in the first of two warm-up games ahead of this summer’s delayed Euro 2020 tournament.

On Monday manager Robert Page drew up his 26-man squad for the tournament, losing St Pauli defender James Lawrence before the ink had set on his line-up… Luton Town’s Tom Lockyer the man drafted in to replace him.

Lockyer joins Chris Mepham, Joe Rodon, Ben Cabango and Ethan Ampadu in the running for a place in the centre of defence, with Ben Davies and Chris Gunter also able to occupy those slots although more likely to be vying with Connor Roberts, Neco Williams and Rhys Norrington-Davies for the wider berths.

Joe Allen, Aaron Ramsey and Jonny Williams bring the experience to the middle of the park, backed up by the next generation of midfield maestros in Joe Morrell, Matthew Smith, Dylan Levitt, Harry Wilson and Page’s wild-card pick, Cardiff City’s Rubin Colwill.

The attack will be spearheaded by Gareth Bale, supported by Dan James, David Brooks, Tyler Roberts and Kieffer Moore, while Wayne Hennessey, Danny Ward and Adam Davies are the challengers for the keeper’s jersey.

Tonight’s game against World Cup holders and 2016 runners-up France kicks off at 8.05pm at the Stade Allianz Riviera in Nice, followed by a final preparation against Albania at 5pm on Saturday at Cardiff City Stadium.

Then it’s down to the serious business of negotiating a way through a difficult Group A, which also includes Switzerland, Turkey and Italy.

First up in the finals are Switzerland, who Page’s men play at 2pm in Baku on Saturday, 12 June.  Wales stay in Baku for the second tie against Turkey, who they face four days later, with a 2pm kick-off. The final group match is against Italy at 5pm in Rome on Sunday, 20 June.

Wales Squad
Wayne Hennessey (Crystal Palace), Danny Ward (Leicester), Adam Davies (Stoke)
Defenders: Connor Roberts (Swansea), Neco Williams (Liverpool), Chris Gunter (Charlton), Joe Rodon (Tottenham), Ethan Ampadu (Chelsea), Chris Mepham (Bournemouth), Tom Lockyer (Luton Town), Ben Cabango (Swansea), Ben Davies (Tottenham), Rhys Norrington-Davies (Sheffield United)
Midfielders: Joe Allen (Stoke), Joe Morrell (Luton), Matthew Smith (Manchester City), Jonny Williams (Cardiff), Aaron Ramsey (Juventus), Dylan Levitt (Manchester United), Rubin Colwill (Cardiff), Harry Wilson (Liverpool)
Forwards: Daniel James (Manchester United), David Brooks (Bournemouth), Tyler Roberts (Leeds), Gareth Bale (Real Madrid), Kieffer Moore (Cardiff)

Wales’ Upcoming Fixtures

Uefa Euro2020 Website